enchantedpapers

Don’t Give Up

Posted on: October 28, 2011

Cover of Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Mon...

Image via Wikipedia

“Our aspirations are our possibilities”, Samuel Johnson once said.

So many times I’ve heard people say. “If I knew then what I know now, things would be different”. The lesson for me in that is; be careful what you give up.  Carefully consider your hopes and dreams before letting go of any of them.  Think about who you are, and who you want to become.  Take some time to consider your essential self.

We can do whatever we choose to do, if we have the strength and resolve to follow through.  We need to follow our dreams and keep our eyes on the prize.  Give up those things that are not parts of your essential self.

As young women we put our dreams on hold for our family, our careers, or even our spouse.  The important thing is not to give them up entirely, postpone if necessary.

If you let go of a friendship, a dream job, or your education, be very sure.  The years may bring changes that will have you revisit your dreams and you may find you’ve given up something essential.

I’ve continued to read and write throughout my life.  It’s part of who I am.  Continuous learning is very important to me, and I honor that part of me.  There’s a part of me that loves home-cooked meals, sitting down to a pretty table and being there when my daughter returns from school.  There’s also a part of me that loves to create  pretty things.  I also honor that.  Quite frankly, I’ve never given up part of my essential self, I have at times put things on hold.

Yes,  there are days when I feel that one of the plates I’m spinning will hit the floor.  And yes there are days when some (or all) of the plates do hit the floor. I just sweep up the mess and start over. ” Tomorrow is a brand new day with no mistakes in it”, as Miss Stacy told Anne Shirley in Anne of Green Gables.

Life is short and you’ve got to live your own life, not someone elses version.  If you are not true to your self and give up essential pieces of yourself, you may live to regret it.  Life is an opportunity to share and nurture our gifts.    Share your gifts with the world.

Stop by Etsy and see one of my dreams at: etsy.com/shop/marypoppins2853

Leave a comment